The Grass Ain’t Always Greener: a My Journey to Ninja Warrior Interlude

Aloha and welcome to The Grass Ain’t Always Greener: a My Journey to Ninja Warrior Interlude.

This instalment has been on my mind for about ten Days and has been prompted by recent sightings of former-acquaintances who made choices that removed them from my circle.  I’ve been pretty busy this Week with a complete reworking of my recent eBook entitled ‘Training for Ninja Warrior’ which shares motivation and programs used in the last twenty-four Months of Ninja Training so haven’t updated the Blog with an Interlude instalment.

There’s an old adage that goes ‘This Grass is greener on the other side of the Fence’. Strictly speaking this isn’t always true, a lesson these former acquaintances have learnt the hard way. Often the Grass on the other side of the proverbial Fence IS actually greener BUT you don’t see the blood, sweat and tears that goes into making it that way. The truth of the matter is that if you were to decide to put the same amount of blood, sweat and tears into tending your own Grass you would probably surpass your neighbor’s.

The analogy can be applied to anything in life, your relationship, your Employment or even your Home and Garden. There is no escaping the fact that IF you make the choice to put the work in then the Grass WILL be greener. Let me put it this way; I used to be in awe of the individuals that attended my Gym and easily put in set after set of perfect pull-ups. Did that stop me attending the Gym, heading for the A-Frame and trying to emulate them?

No.

Time passed and as I began to see improvements in my own performance I came to the realisation that these individuals weren’t somehow born with the ability to perform set after set of strict pull-ups with apparent ease. I made Gym-friends and through speaking to them, gleaning what I could from their philosophies, it quickly became apparent that the one thing that they had in common was that they had put the time in. Much like when I started the journey they had begun in EXACTLY the same way.

So this is the lesson for this instalment, stow the jealously. Put the work in and greatness will come, your proverbial Grass WILL soon be greener than your neighbors and they will be the ones jealous or envious of YOU.

Mahalo (Thanks) for taking the time to read my musings. I appreciate your taking time out to spend with me. Until next time, and as always, with much Aloha I remain

Jon

Jon G. Richelieu-Booth

Author, Coach, Personal Trainer, Superman and Future American Ninja Warrior / Ninja Warrior

Leave a comment